James R. Couch, Jr. MD, Ph.D.

Title: Professor of Neurology
Company: University of Oklahoma
Health Sciences Center
Location:  Oklahoma City, OK United States


  • Alpha Omega Alpha
  • American Academy of Neurology (board of directors, assistant secretary treasurer, 1984-1986) (secretary treasurer, 1986-1988) (chairman section neurorehabilitation, 1996-1998)
  • American Academy of Neurology (program director, consortium of neurology program, chair, 2003-2005) (chair, 2003) (chair headache section, 2003-2005) (chairman section of headache and facial pain, 2003-2005)
  • American Geriatric Society
  • American Headache Society (executive committee ad hoc, 1983-1985) (winter headache course, membership committee 1983-1985) (chairman, 1994-1996) (faculty continuing medical education courses 1982-2007) (education committee 1983-1985) (chair, 1996-1998) (achievement recognition committee, publications committee 1986) (board directors, 1983-1992) (treasurer, 1992-1994) (secretary, 1994-1996) (president elect, 1996-1998) (president, 1998-2000) (clinical action team, 2008) (nominating committee, 2001-2008)
  • American Medical Association
  • American Neurological Association (elected, 1989)
  • American Society of Neurorehabilitation (chairman education committee, 1989-19950) (board directors, 1990-1998)
  • Association of University Professors in Neurology (chairman undergraduate, education committee, secretary treasurer, 1992-1996) (chairman VAMC committee, 1997-2001)
  • Baylor College of Medicine Alumni Association
  • Consortium of Neurology (program director, chair, 2003-2005)
  • FDA (peripheral central nervous system advisory committee, 2004-2008)
  • Illinois State Medical Society
  • National Heart Institute, fellow (1965-1966)
  • National Institute of Mental Health (1967-1969)
  • National Institutes of Health
  • Neuroscience for Society (secretary, Kansas City Chapter, 1976-1977) (president, 1977-1978) (president, Sangamon County chapter, 1982-1992) (president, 1986-1987)
  • Oklahoma County Medical Society
  • Oklahoma State Medical Society
  • Phi Eta Sigma
  • Phi Kappi Phi
  • Sangamon County Medical Society
  • Sigma Xi, The Scientific Honor Society
  • Stroke Council American Heart Association
  • Washington University Medical Center Alumni Association


  • Honoree, Distinguished Worldwide Humanitarian Award (2017)
  • Recipient, Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award (2017)
  • Featured Member, “Who’s Who in America,” Marquis Who’s Who  (1992-2016)
  • Featured Member, “Who’s Who in the South and Southwest,” Marquis Who’s Who (2010-2016)
  • Grant Recipient, DOD research grant, CDMRP (2016)
  • Featured Member, “Who’s Who in Science and Engineering,” Marquis Who’s Who (2011-2012)
  • Featured Member, “Who’s Who in American Education,” Marquis Who’s Who (2006-2007)
  • Featured Member, “Who’s Who in Medicine and Healthcare,” Marquis Who’s Who (1997-1998)
  • Featured Member, “Who’s Who in the Midwest,” Marquis Who’s Who (1988-1989)
  • Recipient, numerous grants for neurology research

Contact Dr. James Couch

Leave a Reply