Janice M. Holder, Tennessee Supreme Court (Ret)

Title: State Supreme Court Justice (Retired)
Location: Memphis, TN United States


  • Alliance for Blind and Visually Impaired, Memphis (Board directors, 1985-1994)
  • American Bar Association, Southeastern Region, American Board Trial Advisors
  • American Bar Foundation
  • American Inns Court, Tennessee Judicial Conference (executive committee, 1993-1996) (treasurer, 1993-1994)
  • Association for Women Attorneys (vice president, 1991) (treasurer, 1989)
  • Coalition for Mediation Awareness Tennessee
  • Memphis Bar Association (board of directors, 1986-1987) (editor Memphis Bar Forum, 1987-1991) (secretary, 1993) (board of directors, 1993-1994), (editor,  Memphis Bar Forum 1993-1994)(treasurer, 1994)
  • Memphis Botanical Garden Foundation (1995-2002)
  • Memphis Trial Lawyers Association (board of directors, 1988-1990)
  • Midtown Mental Health Center (Board directors, 1995-1997)
  • Tennessee Bar Association
  • Tennessee Bar Foundation, fellow (Trustee, 1995-1999)
  • Tennessee Lawyers’ Association for Women, founding member
  • Tennessee Task Force Against Domestic Violence, Member state coordinating council (Board of Directors, 1994-1996)
  • Tennessee Trial Judges Association (executive committee, 1994-1996)


  • Honoree, Distinguished Worldwide Humanitarian Award (2018)
  • Recipient, Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award (2018)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in American,” Marquis Who’s Who (2005-2016)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in the South and Southwest,” Marquis Who’s Who (1999-2016)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in American Law,” Marquis Who’s Who (1996-2015)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in American Politics,” Marquis Who’s Who (1997-2014)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who of American Women,” Marquis Who’s Who (2004-2011) (1991-1992)
  • Recipient, Jurist of the Year Award, American Bar Association (2009)
  • Recipient, W.J. Michael Cody Pro Bono Attorney of Year award, Memphis Area Legal Services (2009)
  • Recipient, Grayfred Gray Public Service Mediation Award, Coalition Mediation Awareness Tennessee (2008)
  • Recipient, Marion Griffin-Frances Loring Award, Association for Women Attorneys (1999)
  • Recipient, Charles O. Rond Outstanding Jurist Award, Memphis Bar Association (1992)
  • Recipient, Divorce and Family Law Section Judge of the Year Award (1992)
  • Recipient, Sam A. Myar Award, Judge of the Year, divorce and family law section, Memphis Bar Association (1992)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who of Emerging Leaders in America,” Marquis Who’s Who (1993-1994)

Contact Janice Holder

Leave a Reply