Delaine A. Eastin

Title: Distinguished Educator; Former California State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Location: Davis, CA United States


  • Alameda County Library Commission, Hayward, CA (chair, 1981-1986)
  • Alameda County Solid Waste Management Authority, Oakland, CA (member, president, 1980-1986)
  • American Business Women’s Association
  • American Horticultural Society
  • California Legislative Women’s Caucus, former chair
  • California Women Lead (formerly CEWAER) Sacramento, CA (board of directors, 1988-2003)
  • Chancellor’s Women in STEM Board, University of California, Davis, alumni board
  • City of Union City (council member, 1980-1986) (planning commissioner, 1976-1980)
  • Commission on Status of Women, Sacramento, CA (commissioner, 1990-2003)
  • Commonwealth Club
  • Edible School Yard, advisory board
  • Gevirtz School of Education Board at UCSB (alumni board, member)
  • International Association Foreign Students Foundation (board of directors, 2003)
  • National Gardening Association, board of directors
  • Pence Gallery (board of directors, 2003)
  • Real School Gardens, Texas, board of directors
  • The International Alliance for Women
  • UC Davis Center for Nutrition Education, advisory board, chair


  • Honoree, Distinguished Worldwide Humanitarian Award (2019)
  • Recipient, Janet Rankin Courage to Run Award, National Women’s Political Caucus (2019)
  • Recipient, California Women Lead Luminary Award, (2019)
  • Recipient, The UC Davis Medal (2015)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in the West,” Marquis Who’s Who (2001-2011, 1994-1995)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in America,” Marquis Who’s Who (1995, 1997-2008)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in American Education,” Marquis Who’s Who (1996, 2004-2008)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who of American Women,” Marquis Who’s Who (1995-1996, 2001-2005)
  • Recipient, June Taylor Award,  working to put Gardens in Schools, American Horticultural Society (2003)
  • Recipient, California Counsel on Economic Education Chairman’s Award, (2001)
  • Recipient, President’s Crystal Apple Award, American Library Association (1999)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in the World,” Marquis Who’s Who (1996)
  • Three Time Legislature of the Year, California School Board Association (1994, 1992, 1990)
  • Recipient, California Coalition for Mathematics Award (1992)
  • Recipient, Certificate of Appreciation, California Association for Education of Young Children (1988-1992)
  • Recipient, Educational Excellence Award, California Association for Counseling and Development (1992)
  • Named Legislator of the Year, California Media Library Educators (1991)
  • Recipient, 21st Century Award The International Alliance for Women (1990)
  • Named Outstanding Public Official, California Teachers Association (1988)
  • Named Outstanding Business Woman, American Business Women’s Association (1988)
  • Recipient, Alumni Award, University of California, Davis
  • Recipient, Alumni Award, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Named Assembly Member of the Year, California Chapter, American Planning Association
  • Recipient, The John F. Foran Award for Legislator of the Year, Metropolitan Transportation Commission
  • AIA Legislator of the Year, California Council, American Institute of Architects
  • Recipient, Advocacy of Small Business Award, United Minority Business Entrepreneurs
  • Recipient, Cal Aggie Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award, UC Davis Center

Contact Delaine Eastin


Leave a Reply