Elyn R. Saks, JD, PhD

Title: Orrin B. Evans Distinguished Professor,
Law, Psychology and Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
Company: University of Southern California Gould School of Law
Location:  Los Angeles, California, United States


  • American Law Institute
  • American Psychoanalytic Association
  • American Psychological Association
  • American Psychological Society
  • Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, Washington, DC (Board of Directors)
  • Bring Change 2 Mind, USA (BC2M)
  • Center for Mental Health Services (SAMHSA) (National Advisory Council, 2014-2016)
  • Include, USA – Unique Self Awareness
  • Interdisciplinary Serious Mental Illness Coordinating Committee (ISMICC)
  • Mental Health Advocacy Service
  • Mental Health Advocacy Services, LA
  • National Institute of Mental Health (National Advisory Mental Health Council, 2017-2020)
  • New Center for Psychoanalysis
  • Painted Brain, Los Angeles (former board member)
  • Phi Kappa Phi
  • Robert J. Stoller Foundation, Los Angeles
  • The Los Angeles Institute and Society for Psychoanalytic Foundation


  • Honoree, Distinguished Worldwide Humanitarian Award (2021)
  • Recipient, Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award (2020)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in the West,” Marqis Who’s Who (2011-2016)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in American Law,” Marquis Who’s Who (2014, 2001)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who of American Women,” Marquis Who’s Who (2010-2011)
  • MacArthur Fellow, John D. & Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation (2009)
  • Author, “The Center Cannot Hold: My Journey Through Madness,” New York Times Extended Bestseller List (2007)
  • Honoree, One of Top Ten Nonfiction Books of Year, TIME Magazine (2007)
  • Recipient, Books for a Better Life Award, National Multiple Sclerosis Society (2007)
  • Recipient, Faculty Recognition Award, Phi Kappa Phi (2004)
  • Recipient, USC Associate Award for Creativity in Research (2004)
  • Recipient, Francis Wayland Prize (1986)
  • Marshall Scholarship Recipient, Oxford University (1977-1980)
  • High Honors in Philosophy, Vanderbilt University (1977)
  • Phi Beta Kappa (1976)
  • First in Class, Vanderbilt University
  • Recipient, Founder’s Medal for First Honors, Vanderbilt University
  • Recipient, Jacque Brien Prize, New Center for Psychoanalysis
  • Summa Cum Laude, Vanderbilt University
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in America,” Marquis Who’s Who

Contact Elyn Saks

Leave a Reply