L. Zane Shuck, PhD, PE

Title: President, Research Scientist, Engineer
Company: Technology Development Inc.
Location: Morgantown, West Virginia
United States


  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers (Petroleum Division Chair)
  • Appalachian Rivers Conference and Exhibit (founder, chairman, 1998-2000)
  • Dunkard Creek Watershed Association (1997-2005)
  • Monongalia County West Run Expressway Committee (chairperson, 2000)
  • Morgantown Chamber of Commerce Committee (Vision 2000 Infrastructure Committee, 1992-2001)
  • Sigma Xi
  • State of West Virginia Coal and Energy Technology Advisory Committee
  • Tau Beta Pi (honorary member)
  • West Virginia Region VI Planning and Development Council
  • West Virginia Legislature Science and Technology Coordinator, 1979-1980)
  • West Virginia University Institute of Technology (College of Engineering Advisory Committees, 2002-2018)
  • West Virginia University Colleges of Engineering Advisory Committee (2002-Present)
  • WMAC Foundation (founder, president, 1997-Present) (national chairman, 1998-Present)


  • Honoree, Distinguished Worldwide Humanitarian Award (2021)
  • Eponym, L. Zane Shuck Nanobiotechnology Laboratory, West Virginia University (2016)
  • Inductee, Top Professionals of the Year, Marquis Who’s Who (2021, 2020, 2019)
  • Recipient, Ralph James National Award, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (1980)
  • Recipient, Award for “Most Patents Awarded in One Year Ever by a Federal Government Employee,” United States Department of Energy (1975)
  • Recipient, Materials Testing Award, American Society for Testing and Materials (1970)
  • Four-Time Recipient, Ford Foundation Fellowships; Recipient, National Science Foundation Fellowship Iowa State University
  • Recipient, National Science Foundation, Science Faculty Fellowship, West Virginia University
  • Recipient, Wayne State University National Science Foundation Fellowship

Contact Dr. L. Zane Shuck

Leave a Reply