Who’s Who of Humanitarians and Philanthropists

Yvonne A. Johnson, PhD (Hon)

Title: Elementary School Educator
Location: Sycamore, Illinois, United States


  • Council for Elementary Science International (C.E.S.I.)
  • Family Service Agency (board of directors, 2010-2017)
  • Illinois Education Association
  • Illinois Science Teachers Association
  • KishHealth Systems Northwestern Medicine (volunteer, 2011-Present)
  • Midwest Museum of Natural History (president, 2006-2009) (trustee, 2001-2013)
  • National Education Association (life member)
  • National Science Teachers Association
  • Family Service Agency (board member, 2011-2017)
  • Sycamore Education Association (president, 1964)
  • Sycamore Public Library (president, board of directors, 1984-1998) (chairman, major funds drive 1994-1998) (board member, 1977-1998)
  • Voluntary Action Center (2015)


  • Honoree, Distinguished Worldwide Humanitarian Award (2021, 2020, 2019)
  • Featured Member, Marquis Millennium Magazine, Marquis Who’s Who (2020)
  • Inductee, Top Professionals of the Year, Marquis Who’s Who (2020, 2019)
  • Inductee, Who’s Who of Professional Women, Marquis Who’s Who (2020)
  • Recipient, Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award (2019)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in America,” Marquis Who’s Who (2019, 1994-2009)
  • Kishwaukee College, Science Lab (2014)
  • Recipient, Distinguished Alumni Award, Northern Illinois University College of Education (2014)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who of American Education,” Marquis Who’s Who (2003-2007, 1993-1995)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who in the Midwest,” Marquis Who’s Who (2006)
  • Recipient, Clifford Danielson Outstanding Sycamore Citizen Award (2006)
  • Featured Listee, “Who’s Who of American Women,” Marquis Who’s Who (2005, 1995-1997)
  • Outstanding Agricultural Teacher in the Classroom Dekalb County Farm Bureau (1993)
  • Grantee, National Science Foundation (1985-1987, 1961-1962)
  • Science Literary Grantee, State of Illinois (1985-1987)
  • Recipient, Governor’s Master Teacher, State of Illinois (1984)
  • Named, DeKalb County Conservation Teacher (1971)
  • Founder, Renaissance Scholarship
  • Recipient, Tribute Heroes Award, Boy Scouts of America

Contact Yvonne A. Johnson, PhD (Hon)

Share with:


More to explore

Shirley McClerklin-Motley, PhD

Title: 1) Compliance Officer 2) Adjunct Professor 3) Consultant 4) Trainer Company: 1) Premier Spinal Health 2) Johnson C. Smith University

Ewell Gayle Guidry

Title: Test Coordinator Company: Lafayette Parish School System Location: Lafayette, Louisiana, United States

Kelly Murray, RN

Title: Registered Nurse | Adjunct Professor Company: University of Maryland Medical Center | Howard Community College Location: Linthicum, Maryland, United States